Decrease Font Increase Font

President's Corner - December 2009

Lee Anthony
Dear FTVA Members,

As I assume the role of FTVA president and 2009 draws to a close, let us briefly reflect on recent activities and ensure some well-deserving people are recognized for their contributions to our association.  First and foremost, all of us are indebted to Chris Cook, not just for his tenure as FTVA President, but his long-term commitment to the association's membership and the Air Force ISR Agency.  Chris' leadership resulted in enhanced membership involvement, participation, and support to the Agency, and subsequently strengthened both organizations.  He's charted a great course to the future, and I'm deeply obliged and grateful for the personal assistance during this transition.  Chris, you left large shoes to fill!

The AF ISR Agency's support for our recent reunion was absolutely superb!  From the opening tee shot of the golf tournament to Major General Heithold's inspirational speech at the banquet, we shared laughs, celebrated friendships, shed tears for the personal sacrifices of others, and bridged generation gaps across 61 years of the AF ISR Agency and her predecessor organizations.  The Agency's Anniversary Events Project Manager, Major Marcos Garcia, led an aggressive and responsive team that worked with our FTVA reunion stalwarts to deliver another first-class weekend.  The celebration would've been impossible without the tremendous support of Major General Heithold, Colonel Hank Toussaint (AFISRA/FTVA Liaison), and the efforts of Major Garcia's team.  We owe continued thanks to all the military and civilian members who contribute so much to make this annual reunion such a rewarding and meaningful event.

Though bittersweet, it was our honor to actively participate in the RF-4 Dedication Ceremony honoring Maj Gen Worley and Colonel Brodman.  It was equally humbling to recognize the late 1Lt Roslyn Schulte during the Remembrance Ceremony and acknowledge her contributions to our nation.  We're grateful for the families of these three warriors, whose attendance and participation added a special reverence to the weekend's activities.

Finally, the 2009 Hall of Honor Induction Ceremony enshrined four consummate professionals, Colonel-Ret Andy Leech, CMSgt-Ret Charley King, CMSgt-Ret Larry Mills, and Mr. Steve August.  There are no simple words to describe their immense contributions to our agency and nation.  Please join me in congratulating these most-deserving individuals on their selection and induction into the Hall of Honor.

Our association is strong.  The dedication and stewardship of the officers, directors, committees, and volunteers is incredible, and I rapidly discovered that the commitment of the various FTVA chapters is equally vibrant.  As is our heritage, we are comprised of small, disparate numbers who create large, positive effects—this is best evidenced by over $260,000 contributed to command programs since inception.  It goes without saying that this strength is a result of your membership and participation.  We need each of you to remain proactive, encourage new membership, document our rich heritage, and most importantly…REMAIN IN TOUCH!

Association Officers
Board of Directors (BOD) Minutes
Scheduled BOD Meetings
FTVA History Reports
Our mailing address is: To E-mail the Freedom Through Vigilance Association,
select one of the below:

Freedom Through Vigilance Association
PO Box 691616
San Antonio, TX 78269-1616

File last updated: August 12, 2013 8:41:38 PM CDT